U.K. Prog, Volume 10: 1972b Space Is Deep

The second of two volumes covering 1972. 

Download the mix here.

1. Kingdom Come: Time Captives 8:18
2. Stackridge: Purple Spaceships Over Yatton 6:40
3. Matching Mole: Instant Kitten 4:59
4. Hawkwind: Space Is Deep 6:23
5. Khan: Space Shanty (including the Cobalt Sequence and March of the Sine Squadrons) 9:00
6. Bram Stoker: Fast Decay 3:46
7. CMU: Archway 272 6:19
8. Gentle Giant: A Cry for Everyone 4:06
9. Man: Keep on Crinting 8:18
10. Curved Air: Cheetah 3:31
11. Diabolus: Three Piece Suite 7:11
12. Nektar: Desolation Valley 5:16
13. Flash: Children of the Universe 8:57
14. Jackson Heights: Catch a Thief 4:50

Volume One: Mix.  Notes
Volume Two: Mix.  Notes
Volume Three: Mix.  Notes 
Volume Four: Mix.  Notes.   
Volume Five: Mix.  Notes.  
Volume Six: Mix.  Notes
Volume Seven: Mix.  Notes.  
Volume Eight: Mix.  Notes.  
Volume Nine: Mix.  Notes.   

UK Prog, Volume 5: 1970a The Hard Stuff

And away we go into the 70s. Honestly, the titles of these volume are afterthoughts, but I think “The Hard Stuff” works on a couple of levels. We’re getting into some of the music that real prog junkies value most highly, for instance, but in a much more real sense, the music is getting more complicated and requiring more skill to play effectively. This volume also explores a bit of the nexus between early prog and early hard rock, something I’ll be devoting an auxiliary volume to later. Download the mix here.

1. Emerson Lake & Palmer: The Barbarian 4:32
2. Curved Air: Vivaldi 7:33
3. T.2.: In Circles 8:38
4. East of Eden: Leaping Beauties for Rudy 7:02
5. Argent: Be Free 3:49
6. Skin Alley: Take Me to Your Leader’s Daughter 8:57
7. Yes: Astral Traveler 5:57
8. Beggar’s Opera: Passacaglia 7:10
9. The Move: Cherry Blossom Clinic Revisited 7:42
10. Egg: Fugue in D Minor 2:50
11. Affinity: Three Sisters 5:00
12. Clear Blue Sky: Journey to the Inside of the Sun: a) Sweet Leaf 8:04
13. Titus Groan: Liverpool 6:04

Volume One: Mix.  Notes
Volume Two: Mix.  Notes
Volume Three: Mix.  Notes 
Volume Four: Mix.  Notes.