U.K. Prog, Volume 8: 1971b Travelers in Space and Time

The second of two volumes covering 1971. Get it here.

1. Gentle Giant: Pantagruel’s Nativity 6:50 
2. Mogul Thrash: Going North, Going West 12:06 
3. UFO: Silver Bird 6:55 
4. Yes: South Side of the Sky 7:58 
5. Gong: Fohat Digs Holes in Space 6:23 
6. McDonald & Giles: Tomorrow’s People - The Children of Today 7:03 
7. Raw Material: Ice Queen 6:46 
8. Indian Summer: From the Film of the Same Name 5:53 
9. Beggar’s Opera: Time Machine 8:09 
10. Accolade: The Spider to the Spy 2:41 
11. Marsupilami: Prelude to the Arena 5:22 
12. Tonton Macoute: Flying South in Winter 6:28 
13. Jade Warrior: Masai Morning (including: Casting of the Bones, the Hunt, a Ritual of Kings) 6:41 

Past volumes (let me know if links are down):

Volume One: Mix.  Notes

Volume Two: Mix.  Notes

Volume Three: Mix.  Notes 

Volume Four: Mix.  Notes.   

Volume Five: Mix.  Notes.  

Volume Six: Mix.  Notes

Volume Seven: Mix.  Notes.  

UK Prog, Volume 5: 1970a The Hard Stuff

And away we go into the 70s. Honestly, the titles of these volume are afterthoughts, but I think “The Hard Stuff” works on a couple of levels. We’re getting into some of the music that real prog junkies value most highly, for instance, but in a much more real sense, the music is getting more complicated and requiring more skill to play effectively. This volume also explores a bit of the nexus between early prog and early hard rock, something I’ll be devoting an auxiliary volume to later. Download the mix here.

1. Emerson Lake & Palmer: The Barbarian 4:32
2. Curved Air: Vivaldi 7:33
3. T.2.: In Circles 8:38
4. East of Eden: Leaping Beauties for Rudy 7:02
5. Argent: Be Free 3:49
6. Skin Alley: Take Me to Your Leader’s Daughter 8:57
7. Yes: Astral Traveler 5:57
8. Beggar’s Opera: Passacaglia 7:10
9. The Move: Cherry Blossom Clinic Revisited 7:42
10. Egg: Fugue in D Minor 2:50
11. Affinity: Three Sisters 5:00
12. Clear Blue Sky: Journey to the Inside of the Sun: a) Sweet Leaf 8:04
13. Titus Groan: Liverpool 6:04

Volume One: Mix.  Notes
Volume Two: Mix.  Notes
Volume Three: Mix.  Notes 
Volume Four: Mix.  Notes.